Fantasy Fights

Intelligent, unique MMA analysis

About Alistair Overeem…

I just updated the SILVA scores, and SILVA is now telling me that Alistair Overeem is the #2 heavyweight fighter in the world, behind Junior dos Santos. As somebody who’s been saying that Overeem isn’t all he’s hyped up to be, maybe it really is time to re-assess that opinion, and give Overeem credit for what he’s accomplished recently.

The Fabricio Werdum fight still has me spooked, and I won’t be picking Overeem to beat Junior dos Santos, but even though I just now wrote that I was sticking to my guns, I think it’s time to admit I was wrong about Overeem, and acknowledge that he is truly one of the very best heavyweight fighters in the world.

Leave a Reply

