Fantasy Fights

Intelligent, unique MMA analysis

Quick Predictions: UFC on Fuel 5 Prelims

I won’t have time to do proper coverage of all the prelim fights for UFC on Fuel 5, so I’m just going to give some quick predictions here.

Jimi Manuwa over Kyle Kingsbury

For a while, Kingsbury was getting away with being a physically strong guy who could take punishment. Then he got dominated on the ground by Stephan Bonnar and obliterated by Glover Teixeira. Jimi Manuwa is no Glover, but he is a knockout artist with a couple quality wins on his undefeated record. I’ll take the UFC newcomer to win here.

Akira Corassani over Andy Ogle

And I would take this prediction with a grain of salt, because I really haven’t done adequate research on it.

Brad Tavares over Tom Watson

Watson has some nice wins on his record, but I think his upside is limited. He strikes me as the MMA equivalent of a “Quad-A” player in baseball: a fighter who is very good against tough competition outside the UFC, but one who will struggle in the UFC. Brad Tavares is no world-beater, but has solid striking and takedown defense, and I think he’s good enough to out-point Watson.

Apologies for not giving these fights proper coverage. I’ll be back tomorrow with full previews for some of the main card fights.

Leave a Reply

