Fantasy Fights

Intelligent, unique MMA analysis

The Dominant Wrestling of Chris Weidman

Up on JasonSomerville.com, I illustrate how good Chris Weidman’s wrestling is in comparison to the rest of the UFC middleweight division. Find out why Weidman is in a class of his own when it comes to landing takedowns.

4 responses to “The Dominant Wrestling of Chris Weidman

  1. Howard Morton December 20, 2013 at 3:57 am

    Michael McDonald must have been sick, he performed horribly.

    I was hoping that Condit v. Brown would be rebooked,but I guess Woodley v. Condit is ok.

    I like Weidman to win the rematch with A. Silva by stoppage.

    • David Williams December 23, 2013 at 5:41 pm

      I certainly didn’t expect Urijah Faber to out-strike McDonald so easily. The only explanation I can think of is that McDonald was hesitant in fear of the takedown.

      I’m still holding out hope to see Matt Brown fight Nick Diaz somehow. That probably has about a 1% chance of ever happening but I’d love to see it.

      And I agree, I like Weidman in the rematch too – but you knew that already. 🙂

  2. boza edwards December 23, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    i think that weidman had better utilize his wrestling this time…maybe i was watching a different fight but at the point in which weidman landed the winning shot( as silva was acting like a fool trying to embarrass him),things appeared to be heading south in a hurry for him…i liken it to the first velasquez/dos santos fight…a big lottery shot…

    i think that theres a meme forming on the net and at gambling sites that weidman is going to easily handle silva….

    i don`t think so…i believe the first fight was very fortuitous for weidman…we`ll see…i`m hoping the odds drop….

    keep up the good work..

    • David Williams December 23, 2013 at 5:42 pm

      As somebody who picked Weidman to beat Silva the first time… I’ll acknowledge that I might be seeing his performance through rose-colored glasses. Still, I honestly think Weidman is the better mixed martial artist. I’ll have more on this later in the week. Thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

