Fantasy Fights

Intelligent, unique MMA analysis

UFC 172 Predictions Summary

For this event I like:

  • Jon Jones over Glover Teixeira
  • Phil Davis over Anthony Johnson
  • Luke Rockhold over Tim Boetsch
  • Yancy Medeiros over Jim Miller
  • Andre Fili over Max Holloway
  • Joseph Benavidez over Tim Elliott
  • Takanori Gomi over Isaac Vallie-Flagg
  • Jessamyn Duke over Bethe Correia
  • Danny Castillo over Charlie Brenneman
  • Chris Beal over Patrick Williams

PICKS TO DATE

Last Event: 10-3 (76.9%)

Year to Date: 94-47 (66.7%)

 

DEGENERATE GAMBLER’S CORNER

Last Event: +$0.70

Current Bankroll: $56.21

Total Investment: $134.57

Total Return: $6.21

Return on Investment: 4.6%

Last time I made bets on four underdogs. The great thing about doing this is the underdogs only need to go 2-2 for me to profit… which is exactly what they did. Donald Cerrone +120 and Yoel Romero +125 were winners while Rafael Dos Anjos +195 and Pat Healy +200 were not. The result was a profit of a cool 70 cents.

I liked that approach so much that I’m doing it again for this event.

For this event I have:

Anthony Johnson +185: $2.00 to win $3.70 – I favor Davis to win but only by a narrow margin. If Johnson can keep this fight standing then I think his power will be too much for Davis to handle.

Yancy Medeiros +180: $2.00 to win $3.60

Tim Elliott +340: $1.00 to win $3.40 as I feel Elliott can make it a very tough fight against Joe Benavidez.

Tim Boetsch +700: $0.50 to win $3.50 – I will probably lose 50 cents here, but this line is just disrespectful.

Mandatory disclaimer: I am NOT a betting professional and I do NOT recommend you follow my plays in any serious way. I’m doing this for fun and as an experiment, not a livelihood. If you make any bets, you do so at your own risk.

Best of luck and enjoy the fights!

5 responses to “UFC 172 Predictions Summary

  1. Howard Morton April 26, 2014 at 3:23 am

    3 units: Jones, Davis and Rockhold
    3 units: Yancey Meideros
    3 units: Corriea

    What do you think?

    • David Williams April 26, 2014 at 11:41 am

      Jones and Rockhold really should win. Davis makes me a bit nervous, he’s definitely the vulnerable link in that parlay although I do think he wins tonight.

      I bet on Medeiros as well so I like that play.

      For Correia-Duke, I just don’t know enough about the competitors to be confident. Your opinion is probably more well-informed than mine.

  2. Howard Morton April 26, 2014 at 4:32 am

    I am going to add another play:
    3 units: Max Holloway

    That Jones/Davis/ Rockhold is a 3 team paray, just to clarify.

    • David Williams April 27, 2014 at 12:10 am

      Looks like you went 2-2 on bets. Nice calls on Correia and Holloway. I thought training with the Diaz brothers would give Medeiros the defensive BJJ needed to stay out of Miller’s submissions… obviously I was wrong.

  3. Howard Morton April 27, 2014 at 3:31 am

    I should have used Benavidez as my 3rd leg of parlay instead on Davis….I will never “get” Johnson as far as betting goes. I actually was gonna straight bet him, but got talked out of it so I deserved to lose.

Leave a Reply

